top of page

Aleut chess research

I've begun to do some research into the Aleut chess game. I had found an article some time back vaguely describing an Aleut version of chess.

So far my research has led to a few new bits of information, and others that reinforce the already known information. I've been in contact with people living on the Aleutian Islands, so hopefully more will come from my search.

I did find a photo of people playing the Aleut chess game-

I have also received several pages from old books describing first hand accounts of the game and an article in Russian (translated for me, thank you) about the game as well.

So what have I learned so far?

From the Russian account I have learned that the game was played up into the 1960's when it began to be replaced with modern chess rules. By 1990 or so it is said to have been totally replaced by modern chess.

How does it play? Here is what I have gathered thus far. I include only what I have learned from at least two sources:

- The board is either 7x8, or standard 8x8. This is one rather big point I'm not sure on. The photo above seems to show a normal 8x8 board and most of the sources seem to indicate the game is played as per regular chess with a few differences. A 7x8 board seems like a big difference. The 7x8 board appears in Jochelson's account as an example of the setup.

The other source I found stating the 7x8 board exists, I think is based on Jochelson's account as well.

- The game begins with an opening turn in which the players arrange the pieces on their side of the board into opening configurations. I'm led to believe these opening configurations are like the Shatranj tabiyat.

- The "queen" moves as in the old game, one space diagonally. Also, although not stated in any of the sources, I think it probable that the bishop had the old move of the 2 diagonal jump.

- So far that is all I know. If it really was played regularly at least into the 1960's, then I hope to find some of the older players still alive that know the rules well. I'll keep up my search.

Names of the pieces:

King -Alix, Queen - Fersix, Bishop - slunax, Knight - kunax, Rook - ludax, Pawn - layakucan

Very Brief History:

Said to have been introduced by the Russian as early as the 1700's. The widespread popularity and great skill of chess players in the area was noted in 1790. Possibly the game predates Russian contact and resembled Mongolian Shatar.

Pieces usually carved of walrus tusk or bone by hunters or fishermen.

Pribyloff Island is noted in particular for its chess playing.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page